Our councillors

We are very pleased to welcome Suzie Wakeman, Steve McMillan and Ellen Neville who won seats on the council in May 2022.

Our councillors:

Lucy Willis
Speldhurst & Bidborough

Lucy Willis has been a resident of Tunbridge Wells for thirteen years and intends to increase the council’s lobbying against excessive and night time aircraft noise.

Lucy would is keen to improve local services for the ward and is keen to bring control of roads back to the Borough Council to improve road maintenance. She will also push to ensure more affordable flats are built, improve social housing and find ways to reduce the ever increasing pollution levels in the town. She is also passionate about helping rough sleepers to find alternative accommodation.

Lucy sits on the following committees:

  • Planning and Transportation Cabinet Advisory Board
  • Full Council

Nancy Warne
Benenden & Cranbrook

Nancy Warne was born and lives in Cranbrook and helps to run the family business, Charity Farm Countrystore. During her 4 years as a parish councillor Nancy has worked tirelessly to enable residents voices to be heard through the Neighbourhood Development Plan (NDP). Nancy continues to be heavily involved in the NDP.

Nancy was elected in May 2019 and sits on the following committees:

Audit and Governance Committee

  • Planning Committee
  • Audit and Governance
  • Full Council

David Hayward

David Hayward is an IT professional who was born and lives in Pembury. He is active in the community and has been a Parish Councillor and Magistrate. David wants to ensure Pembury remains a separate Village.

David was elected in May 2019 and sits on the following committees:

  • Overview and Scrutiny Committee
  • Investigating and Disciplinary Committee
  • Cross-Party Development Working Group
  • Covid-19 Panel
  • Full Council

Nicholas Pope
Park, Tunbridge Wells

Nick Pope grew up in Lamberhurst, moved away for 25 years, returning to live in Tunbridge Wells in 2010. He has been involved in a number of initiatives in the town since 2012. He has been involved in the Friends of Calverley Grounds since it was founded and became chairman in 2016, stepping down after becoming a councillor. He is involved in and supports grassroots projects and independent businesses in the town and borough.

Nick was elected in May 2018 and sits on the following committees:

  • Licensing Committee
  • Planning Committee
  • Communities and Economic Development Cabinet Advisory Board
  • Covid-19 Panel
  • General Purposes Committee
  • Full Council
David Knight
Goudhurst & Lamberhurst

David Knight moved to Goudhurst from Tunbridge Wells in 1999 with his wife to raise their two children in the Kent countryside.

He still works locally at the business he founded in 1987 and he is committed to providing a more effective, independent, representation for our villages at Tunbridge Wells Borough Council. He also sits on the Goudhurst Parish Council and is currently deputy chair of both the Business & Communications and the Youth & Housing committees and sits on the Policy & Staffing committee. He is also a trustee of Kilndown Village Hall, Quarry Centre and The Millenium Green where he represents Goudhurst Parish Council.

David was elected in May 2021 and sits on the following committees:

  • Finance and Governance Cabinet Advisory Board
  • Full Council

Matthew Sankey lives with his wife and two children in Speldhurst.